Random Thought on Spicy Food

February 7, 2010 at 11:29 am (General)

Recently I’ve personally experienced three genuine benefits of spicy foods:

1. Clear sinuses. My sinuses are almost always congested, and when they’re clear, I feel good.

2. Increased consumption of water.  I know I don’t drink enough water, and I am constantly trying to find ways to drink more every day.  Sometimes I add a Crystal Light mix to my water bottle, and sometimes I just have to force myself to drink it because I know I need it.  When I eat a spicy meal, though, I can easily consume 2 large glasses of water in a sitting, no problem.  When I’m well-hydrated, I feel good.

3. Portion control.  I definitely eat less food when it’s spicy, depending on the level of heat (part of that is because of drinking more water during the meal too, see Spicy Benefit #2).  When I’m not bloated, I feel good.

And these are benefits even beyond the purpose of adding flavor to a dish and the health benefits such as aiding digestion.  As a kid, my mouth and tongue were not able to tolerate the burning sensation that accompanies the heat, and I’ve never understood why hot spice appeals to people…until now.  I think I’m a convert, imagine that!

Leave a Reply

