Homemade English Muffins

April 18, 2010 at 6:43 pm (Cooking)

Lately, we’ve been making our own English muffins for breakfast, and they are SOO good! I’ve always enjoyed English muffins before, store-bought, or served at a restaurant, but I had no idea they could be so deliciously moist & chewy…so fresh.  It was fun to experience them warm from the griddle, as opposed to warm, and consequently dry, from being toasted.

They are wonderful plain, or spread with (homemade) raspberry jam, but this morning I went another step further, making my all-time favorite breakfast meal, eggs benedict.  I made my own hollandaise sauce, which is 99% saturated fat (yum!), and I poached eggs for the first time.  That was not easy!  Well, the actual cooking of the eggs was very easy, but I have a lot of practicing to do to get the eggs to stay together in the water.  Right now, I don’t understand how anyone can do it without a ring mold. I helped myself to 3 servings of eggs benedict this morning, which was 2 too many!

After breakfast, we quickly found a way to include the muffins in our next meal.  So for lunch, we turned them into tuna melts; tuna salad with homemade mayonnaise, broiled with Colby cheese on top.  Always a kids’ favorite:

English muffins are surprisingly easy to make, and I recommend that everyone try it!  It is well worth the minimal effort.

2 Comments

  1. Amy said,

    YUM! Those look so tasty Kelly. Brian was looking with me, and said to ask you for a scone recipe if you have one. He loves them, but we don’t have a good recipe. Looking forward to seeing you next week!!!!!

    • Kelly said,

      Yes I do have a good scone recipe, we love scones too! I’ll email it to you.

Leave a Reply

