Strawberry Season

June 30, 2010 at 7:21 am (Cooking)

Here’s what’s been cooking in my kitchen lately:

I have been looking forward to strawberry season since last strawberry season!  It means I get to go outside with a purpose.  It means I get the whole strawberry field to myself and my kids as we go picking when no one else ever does…9:00 am on weekday mornings.  The air is cool, the sun is warm, and the fresh-from-the-vine berries make a delicious breakfast.  I get to restock my freezer and pantry with berries and jam so I never have to buy California strawberries form the grocery store in the winter. Ah, I am so spoiled when it comes to strawberries!

These are Oregon Hood Strawberries (above and below)…with one stowaway:

Strawberry shortcake, and yes, of course the biscuit and whipped cream are made from scratch!

On my way to the fridge with a strawberry pie.

The finished product, before serving:

My helper requested a break to make a berry-container-castle.  Then it needed guards. And criminals to live in the dungeons.

Strawberry ice cream mixing:

Today was the last of what has been many spent on my feet in the kitchen…barefoot, even!  But my effort has been well-worthwhile.  My freezer is now stocked with a year’s supply of berries, jam and ice cream.  Well, some ice cream, but a year’s supply of berries for when we run out of ice cream.  So strawberries, until next season…

3 Comments

  1. Melanie said,

    I just discovered your blog and love it. I’m a big fan of ahaparenting.com and found you from there. Anyway, how many berries do you pick to last you the whole year and to make all these delicious foods? We never seem to pick enough and run out before December!

    • Kelly said,

      Hi Melanie, last year we picked 70 pounds of berries! We are fortunate to live in a area where we are very close to some great berry farms. We go out 1-2 times a week during strawberry season (which is only a few of weeks) to pick, eat and stock up. We LOVE going out to pick berries! We eat many fresh berries right away, and then I hull and freeze the rest, ending up with 10-12 gallon-sized Ziploc bags in the freezer by the end of the season. That will usually last us the rest of the year for jam, fruit leather, ice cream, waffle topping, and smoothies…but sometimes we still don’t quite make it! Every year I think I need to pick more! 🙂

      • Melanie said,

        Thanks Kelly! We froze 10-12 quart size bags this summer. We didn’t get out as many times as we wanted (with a 7 month old at 3 1/2 yr old this summer) and like you said, the season is short! Sounds like we need to pick at leadt FOUR times as many berries as we did. Luckily, we still have blueberries.

Leave a Reply

