‘Tis the Season

December 7, 2010 at 7:13 am (General)

Ahhh, organization.  I have pulled out everything from the kids’ toy closet, sorted through it, and put back only what they still use.  The disorganization and overflow of this closet has been annoying me for a while, so it feels good to finally get it sorted and cleaned.  My favorite part is that now all of their toys are grouped and stored in trendy woven baskets.  I love that.  But what I really love is that everything has a place, so when there is a seemingly random stray toy (or several) in one (or every) room of the house, it will be easy (for the kids) to pick it up and put it where it belongs.  We are optimistic.

The best part of cleaning out the closet is now we have a huge box of no-longer-played-with-but-still-in-good-condition toys to give to a local shelter.  The kids and I also went to the store to add some new toys to the box, as well as some necessities like sheets, towels, and pillows.  Elia definitely has an easier time picking out toys to give away than JJ does, but he still was able to choose something.  I think Elia is really capable of putting herself in someone else’s shoes, and understanding how she might help them.  I was impressed and proud that she was able to look up and down the toy aisles and consider what other children would like to have if they couldn’t buy it themselves.

We plan to do this every season.  This time of year is the perfect time to clean out closets and rooms (Christmas decor and clutter is everywhere, and I just want things NEAT again!), but mostly to demonstrate unconditional giving and kindness toward others.  And while our kids have an initially hard time selecting their own toys to give away, they easily enjoy choosing new toys for other families, and they embrace the idea that they can help other kids who need it.  Either that, or they just like an excuse to shop the toy aisles at Target!

5 Comments

  1. Stephanie B. Cornais said,

    That is a great idea! I am the same way, I love when everything has its place.

    We did something similar and adopted a younger baby girl for the holidays, through our local guardian ad litem program. We gave her several outgrown baby clothes and then went and bought some things on her needed list. I cant’ wait till my daughter is older and can play a more active role.

    I have an off topic question, that I have been meaning to ask you…and posting a comment reminded me to ask, sorry its not in a more pertinent place.

    I have been reading the Positive Disciple book for ages 1-3…and I am a little surprised by the information given about getting the toddlers to sleep. They are essentially recommending to parents to get the kids to fall asleep on their own, without nursing, even if means they cry for a little or a lot….

    which goes against AP practices right?

    My gut tells me that the right thing to do is continue to nurse her to sleep as long as she is nursing, even if its till she is 4 or 5. She is only 12 months now, and I think I may night wean her when she is older, maybe sometime between 18 and 24 months, just for my own sanity. I am so tired!! She still gets up 4 or 5 times a night to latch on and snuggle. But I don’t want to stop the falling to sleep routine we have…I would just love it if she only got up once or twice, instead of 4 or 5 times!

    I am not sure if I ever want her to just go to her room and put her self to sleep, until she is much, much older….at least older than 5 or 6…I am just guessing here…I have no idea about the sleep needs of a 5 year old.

    In the book, she says, that getting them to go to sleep on their own is teaching them that they are capable. Which is great…but isn’t 1 to 3 years a little early to be teaching them that they are capable in that way??

    Am I doing damage to her development by nursing my 1 year to sleep?

    Thanks for your help!

    • Kelly said,

      Hi Stephanie, I recommend the Positive Discipline books for all behavioral issues *except* for sleep! They do not advocate an attachment-based approach to sleep, and I agree with you that you should go with your gut! 🙂

  2. Stephanie B. Cornais said,

    Phew!! Ok, great. Thanks so much.

  3. Amy said,

    Kelly – great post! Making me want to tackle our toy room now – a BIG undertaking, but much needed (especially before the grandparent’s gifts arrive!). So great talking with you last night. Wish we lived closer so we could do that over a cup of coffee (or tea) more frequently!

    • Kelly said,

      Ha, yes…better be tea! 🙂 I also really wish we lived closer!

Leave a Reply

