Subtle Snuggle Hints

December 10, 2010 at 7:44 am (Attachment Parenting)

Usually, when we sit in the living room, I am on the couch between both kids either reading to them or watching TV with them or commenting on their sword-fighting moves; whatever we are doing I am engaged.  But last night I was sitting in a chair with my laptop, only half-present.  I had my head down and was typing when JJ wandered over and said matter-of-factly, “Mom, if you ever need someone to snuggle with, I will.  I will snuggle with you.”

I replied, “OK, thanks,” and continued typing.  At which point JJ placed his 2 little hands flat on either of my cheeks and turned my face toward his so he could look right into my eyes and our noses were not quite touching. “DO you need someone to snuggle with you?”

Oh, got it.  “Yes!  I do.  Right now please.”  He presently climbed onto the back of the chair and draped himself across my shoulders, sucking his thumb and twirling my hair.  I put the laptop down and was present once again.

2 Comments

  1. Amy said,

    Awesome! JJ reminds me of Carter. He’ll often come up to me and just say, “Mommy, I want to snuggle”. We need to enjoy these moments – hoping they last for a VERY long time!!!!

    • Kelly said,

      Yes! I just thought it was funny how he did it so indirectly…it was so cute. 🙂 Hope you get lots of snuggles form your little ones today!

Leave a Reply

