Our Week Ahead

February 6, 2011 at 5:02 pm (General)

We are getting ready to go on vacation this week…Kauai!  Well, we don’t actually leave until Saturday, but it’s going to take me all week to prepare.  I wish going on vacation wasn’t so stressful…this week is already giving me headaches, never mind the stress I felt when I actually planned this vacation.  The pressure to get the destination, accommodations, and the price all “right” was almost too much for me to handle.  I lost count of the number of times I had airline tickets or a room reservation just about booked, and I couldn’t bring myself to click “Buy these tickets,” or “Reserve these dates,” for fear that I was choosing poorly (a la Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade: “He chose…poorly.”).  I was terrified that the destination wouldn’t be what we wanted, or the room would be sub-par, or that a better price for plane tickets would pop up the very next day.

But I eventually took a leap and did click “Buy”, and we’re finally going on vacation!  It’s almost upon us, and this week, in preparation, our (mostly my) plans include:

  • Packing
  • Carpet cleaner comes
  • Meat delivery & distribution (our house is the drop site for the neighborhood)
  • Playdate #1
  • Cleaning house
  • Turning milk into yogurt so it doesn’t spoil while we’re away
  • Playdate #2
  • Cleaning out fridge
  • Pet drop-off
  • Check our movies for airplane trip

And those to-dos need to be worked in around our regular activies of:

  • School (Elia)
  • Tae kwon do (JJ)
  • Swimming (both)
  • Kettle bell, kickboxing & centergy classes (me)
  • Story time/ library day
  • Making meals
  • Writing/ my other “extracurricular” work
  • General house care

I guess I bring some of this stress on myself, though, because housework comprises a lot of the list, and really it doesn’t have to be clean before we go.  I just prefer to come home from vacation and not have a mountain of work to do.  There’s usually enough laundry and unpacking to keep me plenty busy.

So, wish me luck this week.  I may need a few of these to get me through the next five days…that’s a a cookie.  In a skillet. Oh yeah.

4 Comments

  1. Aria Baker said,

    Oh wow! Have a great time. I have the exact same fear about clicking the button that commits to making a reservation, etc. UGH!!! Hope your trip is filled with lots of fun and relaxation. 🙂

  2. Laura said,

    how do you make yogurt from milk? and yummmmy cookie.

    • Kelly said,

      Laura, it’s really easy! Just heat up the milk to 185 F to kill any bacteria, then let it cool till it’s warm, but not hot. Then stir in a few tablespoons of yogurt that contains live cultures. Cover and incubate for 4-8 hours in a warm place, around 100 F (I just turn the light on in my oven, and the heat form the light bulb is just the right temperature). It will thicken as it incubates. The more time you give it, the more tart the yogurt will be. Here are some written directions, but I think even these make it seem more complicated than it actually is!
      http://www.makeyourownyogurt.com/print/how-to-make-your-own-yogurt.pdf

  3. Amy said,

    Have an amazing trip! Can’t wait to see all the pictures. Wish I could hide in your suitcase!

Leave a Reply

