Up With the Birds

May 13, 2011 at 5:06 am (General, Out in Nature)

Every morning I get up at 5:00 am to work.  It’s always dark when I start, but as we move into springtime the sun has been making its appearance earlier and earlier.  The gradually glowing sky is accompanied by the sounds of birds, and not too long after, I see them outside my window.  For some reason, these tiny, brightly spotted birds are drawn to our wall out front.  They hop along and play in the rose bushes underneath.  They fluff their feathers and wrestle with other tiny birds.  Their colorful movements catch my attention, and it’s all I can do not to stop and watch the show.

It’s been a long, rainy winter, and I miss seeing some wildlife around the neighborhood. Except for dogs on leashes and wandering cats, the only winter animals I typically glimpse out my window are dots of migrating geese overhead and miscellaneous crane flies hovering outside.

I love the livelihood of the oh-so-tiny birds’ springtime presence; so full of playful energy. These birds make my day.

Leave a Reply

