Rethinking the Day

October 27, 2011 at 7:50 am (General)

Usually our kids sleep in their beds. But occasionally someone joins us in the middle of the night. Sometimes they tuck themselves in to the floor bed next to ours, sometimes they crawl right in the middle of us.

I had just taken apart the floor bed yesterday because it hadn’t been used in a while, and I needed to wash the sheets. Sure enough, at 3:30 this morning, I hear our door creak open and soft little footsteps coming around toward my side of the bed. Usually it’s JJ, but this morning it was Elia. A whispered, “Mom, can I cuddle with you?”

Of course, always. She climbed up between us, but must have had something on her mind because she couldn’t get back to sleep right away.  So I couldn’t get back to sleep either. At 4:45 am, 15 minutes before my alarm was set to go off, I decided to start my day a little early.

So now, as I’ve been awake for 4 1/2 hours and it’s not even 8:00 am, I am rethinking my day. It does not involve working out, as I had previously planned. Or making dinner. Or cleaning the house. Or really anything that requires any bit of exertion.

It does involve a nap.

1 Comment

  1. Jennifer said,

    Gee that little bed looks familiar! My almost 7 year old comes in every night and goes into her bed. She has always been way too active to be in bed with us since she was about 1 1/2 maybe? Sweet story!

Leave a Reply

