A Connected Way to Start the Day

April 12, 2012 at 6:06 am (Attachment Parenting)

Good morning to you, good morning to you!
We’re all in our places with bright shining faces.
Good morning to you, good morning to you!

When I was a kid, my mom used to sing this song as she came in to raise my shades and wake me up in the morning. It was a little cheerier than I usually felt being awakened from my slumber, but it was how she started the day on a positive note. And now I find myself doing something similar with my kids (minus the singing). It’s important to start the day with a positive connection, specifically when it comes to our relationship.

Our weekday mornings can be pretty scattered, but we always take a moment to find each other and connect. My kids usually seek me out each morning, and if they don’t, I make it a point to find them. I look forward to wrapping my arms around them as the first thing to start every day. I kiss them, we snuggle, I let them know I’m happy to see them.

Each kid, every morning.

Good morning to you!

3 Comments

  1. pallasathena2007 said,

    I love this. We do the same thing with our girls. My husband wakes our girls up by singing silly songs at the top of his lungs, but I prefer the quieter snuggles. I love the smell of my oldest daughter’s hair in the morning. That sleepy kid smell is so sweet. And I love snuggling and nursing our baby. The best is when the older one comes in while I’m nursing the baby and snuggles up and falls asleep again all curled up against me. Mommy heaven.

  2. gamblingdementor said,

    I’m not a mum, but I take care of children on weekends and one week during summer (little scouts, from 5 to 8). We have some kind of song we sing to them in the morning to let them know it’s time to wake up and start the day. It’s in French because I live in Belgium, but here are the lyrics translated by myself :

    When all beavers [Beavers are what this scout age category is called] wake up, happy and merry, to laugh and smile, goodbye sleep, the day can start !

    I love this song, it’s short and happy and nice. I love singing it to the little ones, I’m sure I’ll remember it when I’ll have children myself.

  3. Larry said,

    I have never forgotten this little song since my mother would sing it to me every morning in the 1940s. I still sing it to my adult children and grandchildren. It’s a great way to start the day on a happy note.

Leave a Reply

